OFFICIAL: Gary Ross Will Not Direct Catching Fire


The Hunger Games

It’s official.

Gary Ross has released a statement saying that he will be leaving The Hunger Games franchise and will not be directing the sequel Catching Fire. In addition, Lionsgate has formally released a statement as well.

Here is the statement from Gary:

Despite recent speculation in the media, and after difficult but sincere consideration, I have decided not to direct Catching Fire. As a writer and a director, I simply don’t have the time I need to write and prep the movie I would have wanted to make because of the fixed and tight production schedule.

I loved making The Hunger Games – it was the happiest experience of my professional life. Lionsgate was supportive of me in a manner that few directors ever experience in a franchise: they empowered me to make the film I wanted to make and backed the movie in a way that requires…

View original post 233 more words

join the discussion of this post

